2010 CAMO Invitational - Montreal

Our first competition of the season was the CAMO International Invitational in December, in Montreal which hosted over a dozen countries from North America, Europe, Asia, and Africa. Although this is early in the season and our divers, thirteen in all, were learning new dives and perfecting their fundamentals, it was a great experience to dive against some of the best junior divers in the world.

Three Edmonton divers won medals in this large event (over 160 divers). Teya Syskakis won a bronze medal in the B one meter event and was the top Canadian in the event. Michelle Piper-Kulak won a bronze medal on B platform and was the second Canadian. Tyler Roberge won a bronze medal on three meter and was second Canadian. Dominique Cadieux was the best Canadian on three meter placing 5th overall. Becky Deacon was third best Canadian on B three meter placing 4th overall.

The experience was exciting, operating in the French language, including a three day blizzard and meeting divers from all over the world.

2011 Polar Bear Meet - Winnipeg

In mid January, 23 divers traveled to the frosty capital of Manitoba to compete in our first national qualifying meet of the year.

Edmonton Springboard and Platform Diving Club won the top club trophy. Michelle Piper-Kulak was top female diver and Jack Cherniawsky was top male diver. ESP divers won 14 gold, 16 silver, 10 bronze medals, and 44 junior national standards were achieved. Winter Provincials.

2011 Winter Senior Nationals - London

Our next excursion was to London, Ont. one week later for the Winter Senior National Diving Championships.

Our top diver was Cody Yano, who had personal best scores in the preliminaries, semi-finals and finals, winning the silver medal behind Olympic silver medalist Alexandre Despatie.

Angelina Kroupko placed 10th on three meter springboard. Tyler Roberge was 10th on the 10 meter platform. Kevin Leong also placed 10th on the three meter springboard. Kersten Merry placed 12th on the three meter spring-board. Michelle Piper-Kulak was 14th in the same event. Tyler Henschel placed 16th on three meter.

This was an early meet for our divers, as most of them are juniors aiming at international meets in the summer, so we are all pleased with the scores which put Angelina, Tyler Roberge and Michelle in the running for national junior carding.

Cody Yano was named to the National Team to the Canada Cup and the Italian Grand Prix which can get him a senior national team card.

Alberta Winter Provincials - Calgary

Our most recent meet was our Alberta Championships and Junior Canadian team trials for the Dresden International Diving Cup. We entered forty Edmonton divers in this Calgary event.

57 Junior National qualifying standards were achieved. A large number of divers from across Canada attended this A and B age group trails. Michelle Piper-Kulak and Angelina Kroupko qualified for the Canadian Junior team to Germany at the end of April.

Michelle Piper-Kulak won gold medals on the two B springboard events and was second on the B platform and open three meter event. Julien Cousineau won the open platform event which was also a provincial record. Jenna Poelzer won a gold medal on E three meter and a silver medal on E one meter. Jacob Zimmel also won a gold medal on E three meter and silver on one meter. Tanya Boychuk won three silver medals on the three D boards. Elaena Dick had a silver medal on C three meter and two bronze medals on her remaining boards. Brooklyn Whyte won a silver medal on 3 meter and a bronze on E one meter. Angelina Kroupko won the silver medal in the A one meter, Dominique Cadieux won the silver on the C platform event. Tyler Henschel won a bronze medal in the open three meter event. Taylor Olhauser placed 3rd in the C three meter event. Hannah Perry placed 3rd on E one meter. Evan Fontaine won the bronze in E one meter. Angelina Kroupko and Becky Deacon won the silver in the 3 meter synchro and Brent Sagert and Tyler Henschel were 2nd in the men's three meter synchro. Kersten Merry and Aislinn McVittie were 3rd in the women's three meter synchro.

Angelina Kroupko broke Eryn Bulmer's 1994 record on A one meter. Tyler Roberge broke Cody Yano's 2007 record on A Platform. Michelle Piper-Kulak broke Becky Deacon's B one meter record from 2010. Julien Cousineau broke Kevin Leong's Mens Open Platform record from 2010.

Edmonton Springboard and Platform Diving Club won the team championship with 621 points, over CAMO at 589 points.

Other News

At the beginning of April our top high performance divers will be attending a high intensity training camp in Honolulu. They will be training outdoors in the sun and finish up the day with outdoor activities like hiking or surfing. We expect to see some very fit tanned divers upon their return. Trevor Palmatier, David Flewwelling and Steve Flewwelling are the coaches.

Aislinn McVittie, Dominique Cadieux, Elaena Dick and Ethan Pitman will be headed to Montreal with Steve Flewwelling for the Junior National Training Camp, April 5-10.

Future Events

Our two National Team members Michelle and Angelina will leave for Germany with their coaches David and Herb at the end of April. On May 6-8 the Saskatoon Invitational will be held and a bus load of Edmonton divers will attend to compete and further qualify for Junior Nationals in Pointe Claire, P.Q. the first week of July.

Edmonton will be hosting the Alberta Summer Provincials May 20 -22nd and the Canadian National Summer Senior Championships June 2-5th and of course we will see you all at these meets because we are Canada's best meet hosts.